Actually Finishing Something In July–Week Two

This post is coming quite late and I have no good excuses to give for it. A tantalizing update to Minecraft Pocket Edition and some good books from the library have been consuming my time. But still, I’ve managed to bang out a few thousand words for A Ticket to Yonder.

image

1) Were you able to reach your weekly goal?
I hadn’t really set a weekly goal, but I managed to write 3,000 words out of my 10,000 word goal. I also almost completely outlined Corroded Thorns and wrote a little for that.

2) Is this challenge encouraging you to write more often?
I got some good books from the library, so they’ve been a distraction from writing. So I’m not totally motivated to write when there’s a good book lying nearby, waiting to be read. :P

3) At what time of the day did you accomplish most of your writing?
The afternoon/evening. Though I can write at most times, as long as I have a vague idea of the scene I’m working on.

4) Which musical tracks do you listen to most while writing?
For Ticket to Yonder, I like to listen to Disney music, especially my Allen Menken radio on Pandora. My Lindsay Sterling radio is also nice, too. I like a lot of soundtrack music, but I have a playlist of my favorite pop songs, from bands like Imagine Dragons, Of Monsters and Men, OneRepublic, and Coldplay.

5) Share a descriptive snippet or two of your writing.
All manner of glasses lined the walls in display cases of all shapes and sizes; some were in the shapes of circles, or squares, or others were even in the shape of nose. Jamie didn’t understand that one, but since the whole place had a hip, trendy sort of vibe, he suspected having a display case in the shape of nose was the mainstream thing to do.
Sleek, circular couches and chairs dotted the room, often flanked by a minimalist table and maybe a plastic tree (for everyone knows that plastic trees are all the rage). The trees didn’t really look like trees: they were more like giant toothpicks with smaller toothpicks sticking out of it. But that is the point of plastic trees: not to look like trees, but to inspire thoughts of trees. You are supposed to look at it and say, “Hmm, this reminds me of a tree.” Jamie would’ve rather looked at actual trees; but the plastic trees fit in the up-to-date environment of Quax’s practice.

–A Ticket to Yonder

6) Share three dialogue-based snippets from your week one writing.
“You can’t be seen gallivanting around Where in that shabby little sweater vest,” Leda sniffed, marching over to the Royal Closet of Fashionable Attire (this was engraved on a little gold plate over the closet doors).
Standing atop a little stool nearby, Jamie crossed his arms as servants scurried around him measuring. “That shabby sweater, as you so kindly put it, was a gift from my grandmother,” he grumbled. “I don’t want to wear anything different.”

–A Ticket to Yonder

“But I don’t plan on being deserted on a desert island,” Jamie retorted. “I don’t want to learn botany.”
Richard whacked him again. “No back-talking, young man. Remember you are dealing with royalty and nobility, who have kindly stooped to attempt teaching your idiotic brain!”

–A Ticket to Yonder

Leda moved towards the chalkboard and began absentmindedly erasing. “No, I can see where they’re coming from, Richard. My parents never did anything like this. I need to prove myself to them. Show them that the world thinks I am capable of being a queen.”
“I believe you are capable,” Richard replied, as if offended. He ruffled his wings a bit. “And it is your birthright. Do not trouble yourself with the opinions of mere peasants.”

–A Ticket to Yonder

7) How are you going to move forward in this challenge? Are you changing your word-count goal or other plans?
I’m getting these week two questions out rather late, so I’m not sure if I’ll be able to complete my 10,000 word goal for a Ticket to Yonder. But, depending on how I’m inspired, I might focus more on writing Corroded Thorns.

3 thoughts on “Actually Finishing Something In July–Week Two

Leave a Reply

