Beautiful Books: Corroded Thorns

 

I missed out on the second set of questions, cause I wasn’t writing any books at the time, but since I’m editing Corroded Thorns, I thought I’d jump on the bandwagon again.

beautiful books blog button final

On a scale of 1 (worst) to 10 (best), how well do you think this book turned out?

Pretty well.  I’ve already finished one round of edits and now I’ve just got to clean up my writing.
Have you ever rewritten or edited one of your books before? If so, what do you do to prepare yourself? If not, what’s your plan?

Haha, the only thing I’ve edited was Broken Glass…and it was surprisingly easy.  There was only one scene that needed a lot of work.  What do I do to prepare myself?  Put in ear buds.  Turn on good music.  And…stare at my screen for a few minutes.
What’s your final word count? Do you plan to lengthen or trim your book? 

18,500 words–ish.  I have around 1,500 words to spare, which is awesome.  I was getting really worried I’d run out of words (there’s a 20,000 word limit for the Beauty and the Beast story contest), but thankfully I didn’t.
What are you most proud of? Plot, characters, or pacing?

Plot and characters.  Right now, I’m feeling pretty good about them.
What’s your favorite bit of prose or line from this novel?

“It was a fact that Darcy disliked people; they had a habit of being stupid or getting in his way.  ”
What aspect of your book needs the most work? 

The description/setting.  I always have trouble with that; I’m not a detail person, so when it comes to descriptions I’m just like…”they were in a…place.  With things.  Yeah.” *continues writing copious amounts of dialogue*
What aspect of your book is your favourite?

Well, I get to write a sequel about Darcy.  That makes me happy.
How are your characters? Well-rounded, or do they still need to be fleshed out?

They may need a little fleshing out, but not much.   I think my first round of edits nailed Darcy’s personality a little better and Madeline’s too.
If you had to do it over again, what would you change about the whole process?

Actually…nothing.  It took a little while for me to start the story, but I’m glad I kept starting over and scrapping the beginning.  It made the writing process easier later on.
Did anything happen in the book that completely surprised you? Have any scenes or characters turned out differently to what you planned? Good or bad?

Yeah, there was a scene where Madeline got strangely  violent and just attacked this one evil person. She had a good reason though.  I was like, “What?  You go girl!”
What was the theme and message? Do you think they came across? If not, is there anything you could do to bring them out more?

Um…Beauty and the Beast?   I think it’s pretty clear.  😛
Do you like writing with a deadline (like NaNoWriMo) or do you prefer to write-as-it-comes?

Well, this story has a definite deadline and a word limit, which are nice.  It means I actually have to get my act together and write this thing.  No floundering around.
Comparative title time! What published books, movies, or TV shows are like your book? (Ex: Inkheart meets X-Men.)

Um…it’s a bit like Howl’s Moving Castle, maybe,  only with Lydia from Pride and Prejudice instead of Sophie.
How do you celebrate a finished novel?!

I prepared for a  Latin Convention.  :/  But after my first round of edits, I took a couple days off to blog and read.  That was nice.
When people are done reading your book, what feeling do you want them to come away with?

The sort of happy, mushy feelings you get after finishing a good book.  Isn’t that what any author wants?  I’m a happy endings type of gal, so I really hope my readers never walk away wailing and weeping and depressed.  That’s not my intention.

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Books: Corroded Thorns

  1. “They were in a place… with things… yeah.” X)

    Love this! (Also I’m awful, busy person which is why I haven’t yet responded to your email that I keep forgetting is in my inbox. It’s nothing personal. It’s deadlines and schoolwork and general busyness and forgetfulness. The struggle is real.)

Leave a Reply

