Goodbye, 2014

It doesn’t really feel a like a new year–it just feels like the end of the Christmas season.   And my News Year’s Eve was a spent eating pizza with my family, and watching Star Wars episode V.  Which I had never seen before.  (shhh….)  Now I’ve seen the original three, I feel qualified in being excited for the new Star Wars movie coming out this year.  Woohoo!

So, what happened this year in 2014?  Let me tell you…

I started this blog.  And if you’re reading this post, I want to thank you for taking time out of your day to read my little blog.  I really appreciate it!  I haven’t been very good with a regular blogging schedule, but I hope to change that in the coming months.

My novella Broken Glass got published.  If you’ve been following this blog for any length of time, you probably know that.  I’m really happy so many people liked it!   Getting published was an awesome and humbling experience.  The first time I got editing requests back from my publisher, I kind of wanted to crawl under a rock and hide.   But nothing can compare to the feeling of holding one’s own writing in print–that was probably the highlight of my year.

I wrote, edited, and entered Broken Glass’ sequel in the Five Enchanted Roses Contest.  That’s right, Corroded Thorns is done and sent off and I don’t have a to look at it again for couple months!  I am overall pleased with how it turned out, but I’m really not sure if it’ll win.  If it does…great!  If it doesn’t…never fear, you will get to read it.  I’ll probably end up posting it in sections on this blog.  It’s certainly different from Broken Glass; the cast of a characters is a bit smaller.  However, a certain couple from the first novella may have a cameo…I couldn’t resist.  I missed them too much.

I did some reading.  I didn’t read a lot, compared to other bloggers, but I did read more compared to my normal reading amount.  And I tried some new genres!  I’ll be posting soon about my 2014 reading adventures.

So what am I hoping to accomplish in 2015?

I’m gonna do NaNoWriMo.  I’m not sure what novel I’ll but writing, but I am soooo excited to finally do this thing!  The past two years I’ve been busy preparing for Latin Convention, but not next year.

Write a couple first drafts?  Complete a final draft of a story?  Start querying?  I have a vague goal to write more this year, and possibly start querying something.  But we’ll see.

Blog more!  Because it’s a sad fact I’ve only posted, like, 20 posts on this blog.  That needs to change.

So I want to hear your opinion, awesome readers:  what do you want to see on this blog in 2015?  What do you NOT want to see?  Do you have any goals for the next year?  Are you sad Christmas is over?

Cause let’s face it, taking down Christmas decorations is really depressing.  😦

 

10 thoughts on “Goodbye, 2014

  1. Firstly, I’m attempting not to be too shocked that you only just watched Star Wars V and VI. 😉 And goodness, yes, I’m so excited about Episode VII! At the same time I’m nervous: what if they don’t get it right? O.o So far the trailer does look promising…. *gnaws fingernails*

    Secondly, I think “Corroded Thorns” is a splendid title, and I’m happy that–whether you win or not–we’ll be able to read Darcy’s story. ^_^

    Thirdly, it’s nice to meet someone who doesn’t have reams of NaNo experience under her belt either. I’m hoping to join in this year for the first time also. (So. Excited.)

    And can you believe that “Fairest” is releasing this month?! O.O

    (Excuse the random comment. I’ve glanced at your blog occasionally and when I saw this post I thought: “Must comment!” Besides becoming a regular commenter on more writing blogs is a New Years goal of mine. Two stones, you know? 😉 )

    • Yes, NaNo will be an interesting experience for me–lots of fun, I’m sure, but I have absolutely NO NaNo experience. Hehehe.
      And yes!!! Fairest! I’m really excited for that book. But of course, the highlight of the year (at least for the Lunar Chronicles) will be Winter. Ahhh! Can’t wait!

  2. It’s so awesome that you got published in a book! That must be a wonderful feeling. I hope to enter a story in next year’s fairytale retelling contest. Like you, I also hope to blog more and on a more consistent schedule. I have all of the posts for January scheduled so that there are about three posts a week, which I’m very happy about. I also want to maybe start querying one of my novels this year. Maybe. As for what I’d like to see on your blog, I really love reading about other writers’ writing processes. It’s so intriguing and really helpful for my own writing. Good luck with your goals!

    • It is an awesome feeling. You should totally enter next year! Haha, I’m really hoping I don’t have an inspiration to do the next contest, because I want to focus on writing a full-length novel…but we’ll see.
      Ooh, blogging three times a week! Wow! I’m gonna try to stick to at least two times a week, and maybe work my way up.
      I would love to start querying too! And thanks for your feedback. I wish you all the best with your goals too!

  3. Congrats on publishing your novella (I’m so looking forward to reading that collection) and of course entering the second contest. That’s so cool. Wishing you all the best, Emma. Happy 2015…!

  4. I hope you blog more! I love reading your posts! ALSO CONGRATS ON YOUR NOVELLA! I didn’t realise it was in that Glass Slippers anthology, that is afjkdlsaf so cool! GOOD ON YOU, YOU EXCELLENT WRITER. *whispers* I agree that getting edits back is like the hardest thing ever. Also coolest though because you know someone likes your story enough to make it super better. xD
    Hope you have an awesome 2015!

Leave a Reply

