Say Hello to My Bookshelf

I don’t take a lot of selfies, because it’s a little hard to take selfies with an iPad.  But when I heard about shelfies, I thought, AWESOME!  But I should tell you first…

I don’t often buy books.  It’s a fact.  I either get them from the library, or I don’t read them.  I have couple series now that I will preorder the next book, because I know I’ll like them, but other than that–I often don’t feel compelled to own a book.  Unless I know I’ll like a book a lot, or the library doesn’t have it and I will die without reading it (because this happens) I don’t buy books.

So I only have one shelf full of books.

image

On the far left you’ll see my collection of knitting books and other crafting books.  Following them, are a couple of old Marvel comics (one Spider-Man, one Thor) that I got from a friend for my birthday.  I have my collection of Wayne Thomas Batson books, my favorite author in middle school.  All of them are signed, which makes me happy. 😛

image

I got some books for Christmas, namely, Plenilune, Two Gentleman of Verona, and Orphan’s Song.  I also have a couple books I won or got for free at my library’s summer reading program (I scored a paperback of Cinder this past summer–woot woot!) And then comes my prized collection of the Keeper of the Lost Cities series, thus far.  This is really the only series I incoherently fangirl about (other than the Lunar Chronicles, maybe).  IT’S JUST SO CUTE AND AWESOME.  And the covers are gorgeous, too.  After those books comes my copy of all three Lord of the Rings, which I got for 75 cents at a yard sale.  A pretty good deal!

image

And yes, that is a plushie of Gandalf.  I also have a Frodo one, and my sister has Bilbo and Legolas.  And my bookend is a Latin competition trophy.

So what about you guys?   Do you like buying books?  What do your shelves look like?

22 thoughts on “Say Hello to My Bookshelf

  1. I definitely read more books than I buy, since I can get most stuff out at the library. But I still like buying books, particularly at book sales where I can get some awesome deals. And my grandpa gives me a Barnes and Noble gift card every year for my birthday because he’s awesome.
    Also: You got Cinder from your library reading program. WHAT. I’m jealous; my library seems to have given up on offering anything good.

    • Hmm, I need to see if my library has one of these marvelous book sales. Yeah, usually the pickings are pretty slim for the library summer reading program, but this year they were surprisingly good! Sometime I would like to complete my collection of the Lunar Chronicles.
      Your grandpa sounds awesome, btw.

      • The best one around my home happens in late June, when all the libraries come together for one big sale. One year, I got a nearly-new copy of Eulalia and fairly-good-condition copies of Eragon and Eldest for a dollar or less each. (I think Eulalia might’ve been a dollar because it was hardback.) But even the smaller sales can be good, depending what you’re looking for. There’s one coming up at the end of January- I’m excited. 😀 I hope you can get the rest of the Lunar Chronicles!
        He is very, very awesome. 😀

  2. Booooooks! ^___^ I love seeing pictures of people’s bookshelves. So awesome! I got Plenilune for Christmas too!! …I haven’t finished it yet. BUT IT’S SO PWETTY AND I OWN IT. ^__^ ORPHAN’S SONG ALKDFLKJD I LOVE THAT BOOK. And LotR of course–yay yardsales! (My best find is a book I got at a yardsale for a quarter… and later found out it’s worth $50 online. o.o TALK ABOUT BARGAINS. XD) I looooove owning books, but I do get things from libraries a lot. But I go to an enormous library sale every year and usually get at least twenty, soo… yup. But I have three whole bookcases stuffed overflowing with books and loveth all of them. *huggles shelves* I LOVE OWNING BOOKS. 😀 Also that Gandalf plushie is adorbz. I APPROVE OF YOUR BOOKS. ❤

    • Yes, Plenilune is gorgeous!! But really, really, big. It’s going to take me a while to read…
      Wow, that’s an amazing find! I need to go yard-saling more often. Three shelves?!? Woah! You should take some shelfies!
      I love my Gandalf too. But my stuffed Frodo…he’s even more precious.

  3. I’m really not much of a book buyer, and I actually have a blog post about the topic of buying books that I’ve scheduled on my blog. Usually if I buy a book it’s with one of my many Barnes and Nobles giftcards that my friends and family really like to give me. Even then, it’s either a craft book, a book about writing or a nonfiction book. For fiction I either buy books from my library’s yard sale or I borrow books from the library. I love your Gandalf plushie so much! 😀

  4. All of the books on your shelf are the ones on my TBR list, so I’d say we have have books in common! I don’t buy books very often because I don’t have a decent bookstore anywhere around me, but I definitely get books often enough through the book reviews. My shelves are overflowing….three bookshelves….yea…we’re not going to list them all here…..Have you read Plenilune and Orphan’s Song yet? Those two are probably on the top of my list!

    • Wow, that’s so cool! Haha, I haven’t walked into a bookstore and bought a book in like…ever. Amazon is my bookstore most of the time…
      I’ve read Orphan’s Song and really enjoyed it! I haven’t started Plenilune yet (well, I’ve read a few pages) the writing is gorgeous but the book is loooong.

    • I know, right? Sometimes I be like, “Oh, I want to reread this book…” and it’s not right there! Paperbacks are the way to go (they are less expensive) but I also love hardbacks cause they’re pretty.
      You have a marvelous shelf! Thanks for sharing! 😀

      • Yeah… I usually just go with paperback because they are less expensive (as you mentioned) and then they match better with the rest of the books on my shelf. xP
        Thank you!

  5. I love shelfies. XD They are the best, especially considering I would sooo much rather take a picture of my shelves than me. lol I dont’ often buy books either! I would REALLY like to, but I don’t have a lot of spare money for it and books are expensive, darnit. And the library makes them free, so whyyyy not?! It’s perfection. ^_^ I read Wayne Thomas Batson a lot when I was little too!
    That is the cutest Gandalf of the universe.

    • Yes! Libraries are wonderful. Well…I usually don’t spend much time in my library. I just dart in, pick up my books, and dart out. 😛
      Wayne Thomas Batson books were basically the coolest thing to me in middle school. Did you read his pirate books?
      Heehee. I love my plushie Gandalf. He guards my precious books.

  6. I love looking at other peope’s book shelves. I haven’t read a lot of the ones you have, but I’ve heard about them. I might have to give them a try. (If I hear about a book more than once it gets my interest usually) I’m reading Orphan’s Song right now and liking it so far!

  7. So neat! My shelves are stuffed with books… I am always buying them. Not now though, because I spent too much last year. XD This year it’s the library for me!

    That plush of Galdalf is so funny. I love it! (I’m reading the Two towers now. I forgot what a great character Gandalf is.) Orphan’s Song sounds interesting. Any good?

Leave a Reply

