A Reader’s Unsung Heroes

There are lots of blogs dedicated to reading and books and reviews and more reading.  But I think we readers often forget to appreciate a very important thing…

Bookmarks!  Bookmarks are awesome.  They hold our place in books and can be pretty much anything flat, papery or otherwise.   They also have a habit of disappearing when you need them most…

But anyway, I like using bookmarks.  I also enjoy making bookmarks out of cute tags.  It’s a great way to turn cute, useless junk into something useful.  Here are some of my favorites:

image

And one of my favorite bookmarks,  an Everblaze bookmark I got after pre-ording the book:

image

I also have some special bookmarks, like one my parents got from Ephesus when on a cruise:
image

So do you like using bookmarks? Have any of your bookmarks ever mysteriously disappeared?  I had an awesome bookmark I made out of a tag from an Oswald the Lucky Rabbit plush, but I can’t find it, and it makes me sad. What do you use as a bookmark?

16 thoughts on “A Reader’s Unsung Heroes

  1. I have a Turkish bookmark just like yours, except it’s green with a floral design on it. Man, I love that thing! My sister, who’s an excellent artist, makes bookmarks for me too and decorates them with her drawings. I use those all the time. But one of my favorites is a bookmark I got from a library with a quote from Groucho Marx on it that reads, “Outside of a book, a dog is a man’s best friend. Inside of a dog, it’s too dark to read.” XD

  2. You know I don’t think I own a bookmark. I tend to use a receipt, or the little reservation slip that comes with my library books or just log the page on Goodreads and pick it back up from that! I’d love a pretty bookmark to use though. I like them!

  3. I have soooo many bookmarks. I got most of them from the library- I used to just pick them up whenever new ones came in. I only use about five of them, though- I have two with Bible verses on them, a leather bookmark, a green one made out of canvas-paper (actually a large trimming off a photo my dad printed), and one with a garden-ish/fairy-ish scene on it that I use for marking my place in my notebooks.
    I have several bookmarks that’ve disappeared. One is a magnetic bookmark that I think I was using on a trip and now I don’t know where it is, and another is a metal one- it almost looked like a big paper clip, except it had a flower on top.

    • Your bookmarks are cool! I once had a leather bookmark; I got it for free after doing this scavenger hunt thingie at an old, historic mill. And I was disappointed that the prize was only a bookmark…so I can’t quite remember what I did with it. Again, another disappearing bookmark. I think this is a trend!

  4. Bookmarks DEFINITELY need love! They are a totally huge part of my reading processes. x) I usually use free ones I get from Book Depository (they’re such cute designs) or bookmarks I’ve won. I really want to do a post on this too, just all the kinds of bookmarks. one day. XD I love yours better!! I have *gasp* actually used my kindle as a bookmark once. How’s that for irony?!!

    • Yes! We must appreciate our bookmarks! 😛 Maybe they won’t get lost so often then. That is rather ironic, using your kindle for a bookmark. Doyou like having a kindle? I have the kindle app on my ipad, but i rarely use it. Real, paper books are just so much more fun to read.

  5. Ooh these bookmarks are gorgeous! I actually rarely use bookmarks, I just realised. I mean, I love hoarding them but I rarely ever go to to use them because I normally read books in one sitting. Even if I don’t finish the book in one setting, I just memorise the page number heh. I suppose I’m weird ._o

Leave a Reply

