Book Review: Snow Like Ashes

snow like ashes cover
A heartbroken girl. A fierce warrior. A hero in the making.

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now, the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee, raised by the Winterians’ general, Sir. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, and future king, Mather — she would do anything to help her kingdom rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself. Finally, she’s scaling towers, fighting enemy soldiers, and serving her kingdom just as she’s always dreamed she would. But the mission doesn’t go as planned, and Meira soon finds herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics – and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

I came into this book expecting a lot–and I was thoroughly amazed. I don’t read a lot of YA fantasy, because a lot of it doesn’t sound appealing to be. But this book caught my eye. I loved how the Winter people were the good guys for once. I looove winter, and cold, and snow; I mean, who doesn’t like watching snow fall? It’s just beautiful. Part of what made this book so wonderful was the description of the world around Meira; there was enough description to make the world seem real, and very beautiful, but not enough to bog down the story. I loved the little glimpses of the different kingdoms’ cultures, especially Autumn’s. They sounded almost elvish. I hope to see more of them in book 2.

The characters also shine in this book. Though part warrior/soldier, Meira was also funny and compassionate. She didn’t come off as whiny, and she really learned how to put the needs of others before her own wants. I also really liked Mather and Theron. Though there is a bit of a love triangle, romance took the backseat in this story. There were parts where I almost felt there could’ve been a bit more romance, but I’m guessing it will be more prominent in book 2. Meira’s two love interests don’t fall into the typical “bad boy/good boy” trope, and honestly…I can’t really choose between them. Well, maybe I’m leaning slightly towards Theron. He’s an artist/poet/writer at heart, but is also a prince. He was intelligent, artistic, and overall selfless. He was awesome. The villain, Angra, could’ve been a bit more developed, but hopefully we’ll get more background on him in book 2. I find it funny that his name is one letter away from being Angry…On the subject of names, Sir’s name tripped me up. I thought it was some weird fantasy name that should be pronounced “sear” as in searing a steak. But actually it’s just sir like as in Sir Launcelot. Huh.

The plot was overall good; there were certain aspects I saw coming, but it was cleverly done. And the magic was interesting; it was explained enough to make sense, but not too much bore me. The romance and language were clean; violence and gore weren’t bad either.

So yeah…I kind of really loved this book. What about you? Have you read Snow Like Ashes? And what is your favorite season? Do you like snow?

17 thoughts on “Book Review: Snow Like Ashes

  1. Snow Like Ashes is on my TBR list. 🙂 And I like the idea of snow- the fresh, clean snowfall blanketing the world in white (if you’ll excuse the cliche). The reality . . . it’s nice the first day or two, but I get tired of it pretty quickly. 😛

  2. I literally just finished Snow Like Ashes yesterday, and it was brilliant. I, too, noticed how the Winterians were good and the people in Spring were evil. I really liked that because usually in fiction winter is associated with evil. Meira was an awesome heroine because was strong, selfless and independent. Also, the plot twists were awesome in this book. I’d say there were two major ones at the end. I definitely did not see the first one coming, but I did see the second one coming. Overall, it was just a fabulous book.

  3. I reeeally want to read this. BADLY. My library has just bought it and I’m in line so *dances* SO EXCITED! I haven’t actually read a lot of books were it’s about the seasons. Usually it’s all about the elements, right?! So this is going to be so aaawesome. 🙂

  4. I wasn’t so sure about this reading the blurb, but your review made me want to read it. Partly because I like when romance is more in the background, and it would be nice to read a love triangle without the good boy bad boy thing.

    I like winter too. I just get cold so easily now that I have been missing the sun.

  5. I REALLY REALLY WANT TO READ THIS. XD It’s been on my TBR for aaages, but seeing another amazing and positive review on it…well, I may just about read this as soon as I’m done with The Infernal Devices 🙂

  6. SNOW LIKE ASHESSSSS. I ran the twitter party for this one! It was so good. I also really love how it was Winter who were the good guys and Spring who were bad. I think that’s such an interesting take because of how it’s usually portrayed as the opposite, right?

    LOVED THIS BOOK SO MUCH AND SARA ROCKS

  7. Seriously, Emma. I read Snow Like Ashes and had the same thoughts. Winter is probably my favorite season (ESPECIALLY if it snows) as long as I’m bundled enough to not be frozen (which btw is my favorite movie). Spring is actually, once you look at it a certain way, the perfect villain season because everyone thinks Spring is the best, and wishes it were always spring and warm and sunny. But then you’d never have snowfall with the beautiful muffled silence, or the flakes dropping from the sky like a postcard picture, or… I could go on.
    I didn’t really read it recently enough to remember exactly what I liked about Meira and which boy I’d root for (before you ask ;D) but I agree that she has some seriously feminine power. Normally when people talk about girl power they tend to be talking about some girl who acts like a boy (not to generalize or anything. Uh-oh), but not so Meira. She is a strong girl and she is proud of it, and nobody has a problem with it.
    Also… I just want to move into the book, anyone coming with me? I’d live on the border between Autumn and Winter, so I could visit the beautiful leaves and then go home for snow and hot chocolate. Sigh. Chocolate.

Leave a Reply

