My Stack of Books

So I’ve been trying to read more lately, and out of the blue I also decided it was high time to reread one of my favorite series, Percy Jackson and the Olympians. So now I have a stack of books.

image

The Winner’s Curse–the cover on this book is gorgeous!  So pretty!  And after reading a couple of reviews and the sample chapter on Goodreads, I wanted to read it.  Also–fun fact–it’s written in third-person past, which is kinda unique for YA these days.  (well, as far I as can tell.)

The Percy Jackson books–basically, Percy is the best narrator ever.  He’s so funny and loveable!  And then Annabeth and Percy…well, they are so shippable from, like, the first time they meet.  If you haven’t read this series, you totally should.

The Mazerunner–I’m moving slow with this one.  It’s not that I don’t like it…it’s just…everyone is so mean and secretive to Thomas.  He’s so confused, poor guy.  I totally plan on finishing this book (and I think I’ll like it), but when I have to choose between reading about Thomas being all confused and Percy making fun of mythology and being epic…well, I go with Percy.

Full-Metal Alchemist–I’ve read two volumes in this manga series, and I’m loving it!  It’s funny, but also epic and even tragic at times.   I’m waiting on volume three from the library (of course volume four came in first.)

So what have you been reading lately? Have you read anything in my stack?  And most importantly, have you read any of the Percy Jackson books?  Do tell!

19 thoughts on “My Stack of Books

  1. You’ll enjoy The Winner’s Curse 🙂 Some parts in the book didn’t work well, but the writing will definitely catch your interest into it. I hope you enjoy the books you have. AND I LOVE PERCY JACKSON 😀

  2. Currently I’m rereading the Wingefeather Saga for the Ban Rona Book Club, as well as rereading the Bryan Davis books in preparation for Omega Dragon. (I only have The Seventh Door left.) Buuut I’m about to take a break from Davis to read Sanderson’s Warbreaker, since it’s due at the library soon.

  3. I just finished The Blood of Olympus! 😀 It wasn’t my favorite of the books. (No chapters from Percy or Annabeth’s point of view? And the whole thing with Nico. :P) I did enjoy it, though, and I got the first of the Kane Chronicles as well!
    I’ve heard so much about Full-Metal Alchemist, but I have no idea what it’s like. Would you recommend it?

    • Yeah, I haven’t read all the Heroes of Olympus series…I lost interest. But maybe now I’ll actually read them? 😛
      Oooh, yes! I loved the Kane Chronicles.
      Yes, I definitely recommend Full Metal Alchemist!!! It’s the perfect blend of humor, epicness, and sci-fi/fantasy. I’m really enjoying it.

      • I felt like the Heroes of Olympus books had some inappropriate content that made it harder for me to enjoy, so I enjoyed the Percy Jackson books better. (Plus, there was more Percy and Annabeth in the first series. Obvious points in it’s favor.)
        I’ll have to see if my library has Full-Metal Alchemist, then!!! It sounds so cool. 😀

  4. OMG YOU ARE REREADING THE BEST SERIES OF THE ENTIRE WORLD! ❤ ❤ ❤ Gosh…I just reread the PJO series too, and I still love it to pieces. The characters are all fantastic, and Percy's narration is the best. Plus, you can’t beat the Seaweed Brain + Wise Girl ship. 😉

    I hope you end up liking the Winner’s Curse as much as I did! The heroine has a kind of Annabeth mentality as she’s always strategizing and scheming. (Yes, everything comes back to Percy Jackson – haha!)

    Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❤

    • Yeees! The more books I reread in this stories, the more sucked in I get…Annabeth and Percy are just the best!!!
      I am loving the Winner’s Curse. The world in the book is so cool, how it’s based off of Greece and Rome. I love how Kestrel is smart and awesome, yet she enjoys feminine things like playing music and wearing fancy dresses. It’s so refreshing. Thanks for commenting!!

  5. The Winner series is really good! I still remember when the first one came out and how much hype there was surrounding it. I hope the second one is good. I should have an ARC coming in the mail from a giveaway!

    I really enjoyed the maze runner movie but i’ve heard that the book isn’t so good so i’m afraid of reading it, since the movie was SUCH a hit for me.

    My Stacking the Shelves + Montly Recap here.

    – Nova @ Out of Time

    • I’m loving the Winner’s Curse so far, and I’ve heard good things about book 2! Yay! I’m trying to be a good little bookworm and read the Mazerunner before I watch the movie. It’s hard. 😛 The movie looks so good!

  6. Omg, I absolutely adore the Maze Runner. XD I agree it’s confusing and everyone is soooo annoying with how they’re like “Here, Thomas, let me tell you like 2% of what’s going on and then maybe you go take a nap and we’ll tell you later, if, of course, we survive.” AgHHHHH. It drove me nuts. 😉 Buuuut, I’m still wholly addicted to that series. I love The Winner’s Curse too! But the Winner’s Crime is SO SO AMAZING AND AJFDKL FEELS EVERYWHERE.

Leave a Reply

