Hello, Summer

Summer is here!  Though I technically have a little bit of school left, there’s really not much to do.

I finally have time to get back to editing Corroded Thorns.  Yay!  I hope to finish up edits as quickly as possible–maybe even in the next couple weeks!

image

I haven’t read a lot lately but I have a bunch of books coming in from the library, so yay!  Recently I read Seraphina by Rachel Hartman–and oh my gosh, it was amazing!  The main character, Seraphina, is probably one of my favorite heroines.  She’s so witty, intelligent–but also feminine.  I do enjoy characters like Black Widow and Katniss who are all kick-butt and awesome, but it’s so hard to find women who are strong and yet feminine.  Seraphina also had a really cool take on dragons; and the world-building was stellar.  Thankfully, my library has book 2 in the duology, so I am anxiously awaiting it!

image

So a couple weeks ago, I saw Avengers: Age of Ultron and WOW!   I’m having a hard time not just incoherently rambling about its awesomeness.  I now have a new favorite avenger…but I don’t want to spoil anything.  Ultron was an amazing villain (and as much as I love Loki, I thought Ultron was cooler in some ways) and the whole movie wasn’t quite as fluffy as the first one.

And I’ve also started watching Agents of Shield–but I’m on season one and season two just finished so I’m desperately trying to avoid seeing spoilers on the internet.  It’s a good show!  It satisfies my Marvel superhero craving while I wait to see Age of Ultron again later this week.

So, what have you all been reading lately?  Have you seen Age of Ultron?  What did you think?

Most importantly, what are you looking forward to this summer?

19 thoughts on “Hello, Summer

  1. I saw Age of Ultron when it first came out and IT WAS AMAZING! I love how they included some new characters, as well as how funny it was. I’ve been thinking of starting to watch either Agent Carter or Agents of Shield, but I haven’t decided yet. I’ve heard great things about both!

  2. I just saw Age of Ultron the night before last and ASDFGHJKL. As I said to my youth group, if Brandon Sanderson wasn’t giving me an immunity to sheer awesome, that movie would’ve killed me.
    I’m glad you enjoyed Seraphina! I just recently reread it, and I agree, it’s awesome!

  3. I’ve heard great things about ‘Seraphina’ but haven’t read it yet. As for Ultron, nope didn’t get out to see it, but I’ll highly anticipate its release to DVD. Good luck with those edits, Emma. 🙂

  4. I LOVE Seraphina. It is probably one of my all time favourite books. I love Kiggs and Phina and her uncle…I need to get the second book.

    Age of Ultron. WONDERFUL movie!

  5. I’m going to try Agents of Shield at some point….have you seen Agent Carter?! IT IS RIDICULOUSLY GOOD. Like it’s made Peggy Carter into one of my TOP favourite characters of all time. Feminism for the win! She’s so fabulous and perfect. :’) Sooomeday I’m going to see AoU. But, it is not this day. Sadness. I can’t wait to see Ultron in action, eeeep!

  6. Libraries are quite simply the best. ❤

    I've heard sooo many good things about Seraphina! I simply must read it at some point!

    And I saw Age of Ultron… Oh my goodness. I saw it opening day but I'm still trying to sort out my feels. O_O Hawkeye is my favorite and I looooved how much more screentime he had!! 😀 *happy flailing*

    Good luck on your editing! ^_^

Leave a Reply

