Recent Reads

I’ve had a strange assortment of books on my nightstand lately: manga, classics, and rereads.  Instead of boring you with book reviews, here’s a little peak at what I’ve been reading…

image

Fullmetal Alchemist

I finished this manga series at the end of July; it was beautiful.  The story, the art, the characters, the couples–it was all so well done!  Edward and Alphonse are such a hilarious, adorable, epic, and heroic main characters.  One of the things I love most about this series is the girls.  They’re all so strong and awesome and yet never in an annoying way.  I was particularly surprised that so many characters survived, and yet the ending didn’t seem unrealistically happy.  Yay!  If you’re interested in trying manga, this is a good series to start with.

image

Peter Pan

I’m working on Peter Pan retelling for NaNoWriMo (but more on that later), so I thought it would be good to finally read the original book.  It’s definitely not the Disney movie.  Even though Peter was kind of a terrible person and the ending was surprisingly sad, I really enjoyed it.  Barrie’s sense of humor and style of writing are hilarious.  But I don’t think I’d consider Peter Pan a children’s book.   And I still like the Disney movie more.

(but isn’t that leather cover pretty?)

image

The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin

I read this one for my literature class this fall.  An autobiography?  I was expecting to be very bored.  But it’s actually a very short, interesting book.  I feel like quite the underachiever compared to Ben Franklin; even as a teenager Ben Franklin was so self-motivated.

image

The Magician’s Nephew

Rereading this book brings back such memories.  🙂 This one of the books in the series that I had read the least.  Polly and Digory are adorable and it always made me sad they didn’t marry when they grew up.  *sigh*

image

Scarlet and Cress

Because Winter is coming out in just a couple months!!!  Eep!  I can’t wait.  This series is really worth your time.  It’s so well thought-out!  And Cress and Captain Thorne are adorable.  Enough said.  🙂

image

Tsubasa

Another manga series.  It’s an inter-dimensional sci-fi adventure and I’m loving it.  The art is gorgeous (once you get used to how long everyone’s arms and legs are…).  But sadly my library doesn’t have all the books (meep) so it’s taking me a little longer to read it.

So that’s what I’ve been reading lately, folks!  Anything on my list sound interesting to you?  What have you been reading lately?

 

9 thoughts on “Recent Reads

  1. Wonderful list! I myself need to look into reading the Lunar Chronicles . . .
    Currently I finally got my hands on Heartless, so I’m reading that. As well as Messenger by Lois Lowry. I’m thinking I need to find some historical fiction to read, because lately I’ve been reading very little of that. XD

  2. Manga is something I’ve debated getting into once or twice . . . I had/have a few friends who are into it, but I never really knew where to start. A lot of it sounds like stuff I’d be uncomfortable with.
    Also: WINTER. YES. I NEED IT.
    Lately, I’ve mostly been rereading books, or else living off whatever new books I can find on my (mom’s) Kindle. We just moved and don’t have a library card yet, so I have a distinct lack of new material.

    • Yeah, there’s a lot of trashy/creepy/gross manga out there. I definitely wouldn’t just walk into the library and pick up a random manga. But FMA and Tsubasa were recommended to me by good friends so i decided to give them a try. 🙂
      Ack! No library card? You poor thing! I hope you’re able to get one soon! 😛

      • I’ll keep them in mind if I ever decide to get into it. 🙂 I take it they’re both mostly clean?
        Thanks. I think we’re mostly waiting on something we can use as a proof-of-address. On the upside, the library is still only about 5-10 minutes from our house; I could bike there if I wanted.

      • Yeah! Tsubasa is very clean: FMA cn be a little violent, but it’s done tastefully. There’s a little swearing and some rude jokes (but mostly in the extras at the end of each volume). The romance is very clean and adorable in both series.

Leave a Reply

